Posted by: Nick Jiorle | June 17, 2010

Weyerbacher Brewery Experience

The Bar

People sampling the beers on tap for the afternoon

If you find yourself looking for a good beer in the Lehigh Valley on a Saturday afternoon I recommend checking out the Weyerbacher Brewery in Easton, Pa. Weyerbacher is wonderful microbrewery that has the Saturday afternoon brewpub down to a science. What makes Weyerbacher unique is that unlike most craft breweries, Weyerbacher specializes in Belgian style ales and whit biers. It’s a breath of fresh air from the IPA breweries that seems to dominate the American craft brewery scene. They do Belgian style ales better than any American brewery I’ve tasted. They are located on 905 Line Street in Easton, PA . You can check on their website to see what beers they will have on tap each Saturday.

Upon entering the brewery you step into a relaxed atmosphere that has a party feel to it. The visitor center is open every Saturday from 12pm to 3pm. They have music playing at a tasteful level and people just hanging out talking about beer and sampling beer. They are generous in the samples they hand out and can tell you exactly what you’re drinking. The ladies behind the bar handing out samples are extremely knowledgeable and can find the beer for each persons tastes. As soon as I saddled up to the bar, I had two samples in front of me and they were getting ready to give me a couple more. I got to try all of the beers they had on tap (about 12) and then some of my favorites twice. The whole brewpub part of the tour made me wish it was an actual bar where I could hang out on a Friday night.

The tour was well done. Our tour guide was well informed and friendly. I will not bore you with all the details of the tour, but will say that they have a state-of-the-art brewery with the capability to brew a solid amount of beer. The tour is actually optional. You can just go to sample beers or refill your growlers (more on that later), but if you enjoy the science of brewing then I recommend you take the tour because it’s interesting and informative.

The Selection

The selection of beers for sale

The store at Weyerbacher is great. Every beer they’re brewing at the time is for sale. You have to buy the beer in cases or in growler form because of Pennsylvania liquor laws. You cannot buy just a six-pack at a brewpub in Pennsylvania. At Weyerbacher you can buy your own growler. A growler is a 64 oz. jug that you pay $3 for and can bring it back any Saturday for a refill of any beer on tap. You also look cool walking around with a huge brown jug. This is your best bet if you don’t want to spring for a whole case of beer, which could be pricy. I took the growler route and I’m glad I did. They also have a nice selection of paraphernalia, including some really cool shirts and hats that are affordable.

Cool Threads

Weyerbacher’s Saturday afternoon, “Open House” we’ll call it since it’s much more than a brewery tour is well worth the trip. I met people from Wisconsin there. The combination of atmosphere, information, and delicious Belgian Ales is magic and I can’t wait till next Saturday afternoon so I can fill my growler and talk beer with the folks at the Weyerbacher Brewery. Bottoms Up!

Leave a Reply

Categories

