Posted by: Nick Jiorle | April 10, 2008

My Top 5

    I decided to take a step away from the news style of my blog and give everyone a little look into what I like in a beer.  So I have created a list of my top 5 favorite beers of all time.   Hopefully this will get some response from  readers out there.  I would love to here what other people’s top 5 is. It might give me something new to check out.  Plus it is fun to think about it.  so think if you were stranded on a desert island and you could only have 5 types of beer for the rest of your life, what would they be?  Here are mine:

5.)  Troegs Pale Ale This is a nice enjoyable beer.  It has very good hop character but not overpowering.  I enjoy pale ales but right now this is my favorite.  It has a generous amount of cascade hops which give it it’s flavor and finish. 

4.)  Allagash White- This was an experiment that turned out well for me.  I tried this brew on a whim while at a bar.  I was happy i did.  I had heard great things about the Allagash Brewing Company and was not disappointed when I tried this white beer.  It’s sweet taste and interesting character that plays with your mouth as it goes down was thoroughly enjoyable.  If you can find this on draft at a bar, definitely give it a shot.

3.)  Longtrail Blackbeary Wheat- I first tasted this beer at the Atlantic City Beer Festival and fell in love with it.  To be completely honest, what first attracted me to this beer was the label.  The bear trying to steal the blackberry pie was amazing, which is saying something because before this i usually stayed away from wheat beers.  I bought a six-pack of it shortly after it and enjoyed every sip it.  I love it’s simple wheat quality with the slight hint of blackberry in the finish.  I could see myself drinking a lot of this in the warm Jersey summer ahead. 

2.Bass Ale- This was the first beer I drank when I turned 21 (Not the first time I tried it however).  I love it’s bitter taste.  It has a great color and a nice off-white head.  I love the way it finishes in the back of the mouth.  Great beer to drink on tap.  Love the English beers.  Other notables from England that I enjoy are London Pride and Newcastle Brown Ale.

1.)  Labatt Blue Perhaps a shock to people, but this is my all-time favorite beer and this is unlikely to change anytime soon.  This was one of the first beers I ever drank and I have had many good times drinking it.  If you can buy this stuff in Canada, it is way better than the stuff they import to America.  I go up to Ontario every year for a fishing trip and getting to drink Labatt Blue is one of the highlights (along with catching some nice northern pike).  Not much to say about it, it’s a solid lager with good taste and a spicy finish and it is the face of Canadien beer.  It isn’t always about how a beer tastes to me, sometimes it’s more about how it makes you feel.  And this one makes me feel great.

    Hope everyone enjoyed this post and I really would love to get some feedback and here what other people have to say. Bottoms Up!  

Leave a Reply

Categories

